The · W e s t o n e · Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Coil split with ON–OFF–ON DPDT mini switches on a Clipper CL2011?

2 posters

Go down

Coil split with ON–OFF–ON DPDT mini switches on a Clipper CL2011? Empty Coil split with ON–OFF–ON DPDT mini switches on a Clipper CL2011?

Post by psafloyd Fri Aug 02, 2024 6:21 am

While a competent tech, I have limited electronics experience and wold benefit from someone explaining whether my idea will work. 

I have a fairly tired CL2011 which I am in the process of renovating (and finding parts for). 

This model for those who are unfamiliar, has two single coils – look like ceramic – and there are two mini toggles that turn each coil on or off. 

I can't believe these sound great. I will try them, but am considering an upgrade to two Alnico 5 blades. 

If I do that, it makes sense to have the versatility of humbucker and single coil sounds. So, as I have two holes switches, can I use two independent ON–OFF–ON switches to wire them as HB– OFF–single coil? 

And if so, what would the wiring on each pickup be? That's where I am struggling. 

Many thanks.
psafloyd
psafloyd
Westone Nut

Number of posts : 38
Registration date : 2016-06-07

Back to top Go down

Coil split with ON–OFF–ON DPDT mini switches on a Clipper CL2011? Empty Re: Coil split with ON–OFF–ON DPDT mini switches on a Clipper CL2011?

Post by gittarasaurus Fri Aug 02, 2024 2:15 pm

this is from a website called Guitar Electronics.com
they sell parts too
Coil split with ON–OFF–ON DPDT mini switches on a Clipper CL2011? Humbucker_Off_South_Coil__09460.1471922928
gittarasaurus
gittarasaurus
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 1517
Registration date : 2011-05-25

Barry and psafloyd like this post

Back to top Go down

Coil split with ON–OFF–ON DPDT mini switches on a Clipper CL2011? Empty Re: Coil split with ON–OFF–ON DPDT mini switches on a Clipper CL2011?