The · W e s t o n e · Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Thunder IIIA Bass - 35 And Counting...

2 posters

Go down

BASS - Thunder IIIA Bass - 35 And Counting... Empty Thunder IIIA Bass - 35 And Counting...

Post by bbrich Fri Jan 28, 2022 5:58 pm

As a beginner my first bass was a ubiquitous Squier Precision. A sunburst and maple JV57 that I bought in my home town in 1983. I never really got on with it but I managed to persevere and make some progress. The 57 neck was too chunky for me and I always felt it was neck heavy. In fact I think most Precisions are neck heavy but it could be me. So by 1986 I was in the market for something better...

I don't know if you remember but being a beginner in a music shop back in the 80s could be a daunting experience - especially if you were an adult - and with my Precision experiences I could be made to feel like an idiot quite easily. "What! You don't like Fender Precisions! What about a Fender Jazz then?" So I decided to go to a high end London bass shop rather than suffer further embarrassment in my local guitar heroes outlets.

I was working in Saudi Arabia at the time and along with a group of friends we'd flown over to watch England play Scotland at Wembley and I'd decided on a side-trip to get a new bass. So early one Wednesday morning in April 1986 I found myself in The Bass Centre in London.