The · W e s t o n e · Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Biting the bullet - getting guitar lessons

+3
The Chad
corsair
The Don
7 posters

Go down

guitar - Biting the bullet - getting guitar lessons Empty Biting the bullet - getting guitar lessons

Post by The Don Tue Jun 11, 2013 3:29 am

I've been playing guitar on and off for close to 30 years now, well to be honest I played for 8 years, then put the guitar in the loft mostly and got it out again when we moved to a nice big house 18 months ago. I'm entirely self taught and haven't had much in the way of role models in that time. During the first 8 years I was mostly rhythm guitar in a series of Blues Bothers tribute bands (at Uni) and then groups with similar setups during the first three years of work. Time was always tight and so I didn't have the necessary time or space for noodling around for hours on end.

Now I (mostly) work from home and I'm back in a band and I have both the time and inclination to practice. It occurs to me that I'm not very good and I'm pretty sure that I don't even hold a guitar in the usual way. I remember when I (very, very reluctantly) learned to play the violin as a teenager. Despite being reluctant to both practice and play, because I had lessons I got very good quite quickly.

I know I'm now an old dog but I think I could usefully learn some new tricks. At the moment I believe I'm a minimally acceptably capable rhythm guitarist with a decent repertoire of extended chords who knows a handful of decent blues licks. I think I'd like to learn how:

- To hold a guitar properly (rather than the spasmodic death grip I have on the neck at the moment)
- To play some county licks which will help to modulate some more boring and predictable solos
- To find my way around the neck, I find myself pinned in the tonic position

Any suggestions as to other things I should consider ?