The · W e s t o n e · Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

trying to identify this westone

5 posters

Go down

trying to identify this westone Empty trying to identify this westone

Post by defzeppard Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:03 pm

We've got a newbie here,

Alright been wanting to indentify this westone for quite some time. My mom bought it for me when I started taking guitar lessons 10 years ago. I've taken good care of it since then and for its age, its in pretty good shape.

I think it might be either a spectrum or a corsair as both look similer

I've nicknamed it "The Prowler" due to its color being close to that of the plymouth prowler cars.

Here's a pic from the front

trying to identify this westone Westone

And heres a shot of the neck plate with the serial number

trying to identify this westone Westone2
defzeppard
defzeppard
Registered Member

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2008-10-30

Back to top Go down

trying to identify this westone Empty Re: trying to identify this westone

Post by corsair Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:13 am

Hiya, bro - IMHO that's a Corsair 1430 made in 1987, which means it's sort of like my Clippers and may have been assembled in Korea from Matsumoku parts... or it may have been built in Japan!!
That's a nice looking guitar, though; I fancy the 1440 in Shocking pink!! Actually, you're not that far from the truth with the paint observation as my impression of the later model Westones and Electras was that they did use automotive colours, and that to me looks like Burgundy pearl.

So, do you gig it, and what are your impressions of it? Have you compared it to any other guitars etc.... Very Happy

http://www.westone.info/xa1430.html

Last edited by corsair on Fri Oct 31, 2008 2:14 am; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : addition)
corsair

Number of posts : 6321
Registration date : 2008-04-08

Back to top Go down

Post by defzeppard Fri Oct 31, 2008 6:31 pm