The · W e s t o n e · Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Replacing spectrum II 4 string bass bridge

4 posters

Go down

Replacing spectrum II 4 string bass bridge Empty Replacing spectrum II 4 string bass bridge

Post by Sergiofab Fri Mar 29, 2024 10:27 am

Hi all, Sergio here, from France.
I have been playing my 1987 Spectrum II since 1990. Today it's bridge mechanics cant take it any longer.
My luthier gave up fixing it and auggested a replacement with a kickass hipshot, robust and wide enough to cover the screw holes.

Are you aware of any other alternatives ?

Thanks for each little pièce of knowledge you'll want to share with me Wink

Cheers,
Sergio
Sergiofab
Sergiofab

Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2024-03-29

Back to top Go down

Replacing spectrum II 4 string bass bridge Empty Re: Replacing spectrum II 4 string bass bridge

Post by Barry Fri Mar 29, 2024 4:46 pm

Bonjour Sergio et bienvenue!

My knowledge of Westone basses is limited so I cannot be of much help in recommending a replacement. Perhaps one of our members will be able to suggest something.

If you are not worrying about keeping everything original I would suggest you simply go with whatever works and looks OK.

Sounds like your guitar tech already has a solution. Being able to continue playing the instrument is the most important thing.

MUSIC/PIX/VIDEOS: https://getback.barryeames.com (including Spectrum ST)
Barry
Barry
Hero, Legend, and all round good guy

Number of posts : 8701
Registration date : 2009-05-01

https://legend.barryeames.com

Back to top Go down

Replacing spectrum II 4 string bass bridge Empty Re: Replacing spectrum II 4 string bass bridge

Post by Sergiofab Sat Mar 30, 2024 9:24 pm

Thanks Barry for your suggestion!
Sergiofab
Sergiofab

Registration date : 2024-03-29

Back to top Go down

Post by Jerry_B Mon Apr 01, 2024 10:18 pm

What's actually gone wrong with the bass bridge?
Jerry_B
Jerry_B