The · W e s t o n e · Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Bridge question for thunder II-A

3 posters

Go down

Bridge question for thunder II-A Empty Bridge question for thunder II-A

Post by jethro Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:53 am

Hi, I recently bought this thunder II-A for £10 as a project guitar, and i'm collecting all the parts for it when i noticed the bridge has a weird thing going on that i haven't seen in any of my other guitars.
It seems that the bridge part is very low, is that normal?
Is there some special bridge that is need or does it just screw up until its level or will the tune-o-matic make it level when placed on top of the saddles?

CAN YOU HELP ME PLEASE, As you can probably tell this is my first time repairing a gee-tar scratch
Bridge question for thunder II-A Dsc00310
Bridge question for thunder II-A Dsc00333bBridge question for thunder II-A Dsc00335
jethro
Registered Member

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2009-04-25

Back to top Go down

Bridge question for thunder II-A Empty Re: Bridge question for thunder II-A

Post by Steve777 Sat Apr 25, 2009 4:12 pm

Hi Jethro,

Help at hand here ... I own a Thunder 2a so can speak from experience. The arrowed posts for the bridge screw out to raise the level of the bridge. I do hope you have the bridge as they are only particular to certain Westones namely, Thunder 2 / 2a / , Prestige, and Rainbow.

By the way, the correct brass knobs are available via the Westone website. Is everything else complete? Have you played it before it was taken apart?

The paint looks in good nick but maybe you can describe the condition later. It looks very white, is it original?. This would have been called pearlised white when it left Japan and with age looks like cornish icecream in colour.

Has the head stock been sanded back and do you have the serial number? This either a version 2 or 3 and can be dated by the SN.