The · W e s t o n e · Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The first tunes / songs you ever learnt to play

+6
colt933
Warrn
The Chad
Westbone
corsair
bowenjaybee
10 posters

Go down

The first tunes / songs you ever learnt to play Empty The first tunes / songs you ever learnt to play

Post by bowenjaybee Wed Oct 26, 2011 11:47 am

I've been feeling a little nostalgic lately and thinking about the good old days. Does anyone recall what the first tunes / riffs / songs etc you ever learnt to play?
That's If any of you oldies can remember that far back clown

Here's mine: from mid 1990 when I started playing bass.

U2 - New Years Day (Bassline), taught myself to play it on a crappy acoustic from a U2 tablature book
The Stone Roses - She bangs the drums (Bassline) A guitarist friend taught me it on his Westone Thunder 1 bass....it took me weeks to perfect it.
The Cult - she sells sanctuary (bassline) We used to do this song in the first band I was ever in. I still have a recording of it. it's painful, nobody ever told us we had to tune in first before playing.

Jay
bowenjaybee

Number of posts : 560
Registration date : 2010-02-22

Back to top Go down

The first tunes / songs you ever learnt to play Empty Re: The first tunes / songs you ever learnt to play

Post by corsair Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:00 pm

Jeebus... that's back in the 60's for me... probably "House of the rising sun" apart from the stuff I was taught, like scales and modes. Imagine teaching a small boy scales and modes...

I'm pretty sure I learned "Man of mystery" by the Shads pretty early on, along with " Apache" and "Kon Tiki" plus a few NZ songs you blokes will never have heard of so I won't bore y'all!!

First tune on organ was... wait for it..... yes; you've guessed it; "Whiter shade of pale", followed by "Girlie"...

Bass, don't know as I only ever really filled in on bass but I did record "Move it!" playing bass....