The · W e s t o n e · Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to Westone, can't figure out what I have

4 posters

Go down

westone - New to Westone, can't figure out what I have Empty New to Westone, can't figure out what I have

Post by Ein_Spiegel Thu Jan 23, 2020 2:08 pm

Hey everyone, I've been playing guitar for 22 years or so and my cousin who just passed left me a '50s Gibson J-50ADJ, a Yamaha 12 string, and what appears to be a Westone.

I've clicked through all the guitars on the main site and found a few very close but no dice.

It's got a serial number stamped on the back plate of the neck joint, a licensed floyd rose, chrome and black hardware, a 5 way switch, a tone knob, a volume knob (neither of which appear to be push pull) and a single small selector switch I assume is a phase switch.

The guitar is all black with no binding and the back electronics cover says Made in Korea.

Is this a real Westone?

Thanks for anyone's help, I appreciate your time!

westone - New to Westone, can't figure out what I have 15798011
westone - New to Westone, can't figure out what I have 15798010
westone - New to Westone, can't figure out what I have 15798012
Ein_Spiegel
Ein_Spiegel
Registered Member

Number of posts : 4
Registration date : 2020-01-23

Back to top Go down

westone - New to Westone, can't figure out what I have Empty Re: New to Westone, can't figure out what I have

Post by corsair Thu Jan 23, 2020 3:31 pm

1990 Spectrum II, I reckon....

... of course it's a "real" Westone! It's just not a Japanese-made Matsumoku Westone, which is primarily what this site was made to pay homage to.

I have 3 or 4 Korean Westones that I rate very highly indeed; my "newest", in fact - a Corsair I acquired from the US as a carcass is now my main guitar.... along with an APII PE-150 that I have just managed to get my grubby little hands on....
corsair

Number of posts : 6321