The · W e s t o n e · Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Westone Thunder 3 bass pickups problem.

5 posters

Go down

BASS - Westone Thunder 3 bass pickups problem. Empty Westone Thunder 3 bass pickups problem.

Post by Clive Shakedown Sun Jul 28, 2013 7:48 am

Hi everyone.

I have been using Westone basses for the last 30 years and Hope you can help,

I have an 82 Thunder 3 as my main giging bass, this was bought new and has done thousands of gigs all over Europe.

(also use a thunder 2 and a 1) also 82's.

Recently the T3 has been sounding "muffled" or maybe less punchy than it did, possibly more "wooly"

hard to describe really but it doesn't have the punch or bite that it did.

I only use the neck pickup, (amp is GK with GK 2x15 cabs)

Could my pickup be wearing out?  is there a replacement? and how would I test this theory? I do have a ohm meter.

No changes have been made to pickup or pole pieces height for around 25 years.

I hope someone may be able to advise me.

Thank you in advance.

Edit, Sorry, I just looked at your pages again and it seems the pickups may not be the same on my T2 and T3, my T3 (with the problem) is exactly the same as the Walnut fretless T3 on your website model list only with frets, and the T2 is just as your photo of the Savannah yellow one.

Last edited by Clive Shakedown on Sun Jul 28, 2013 2:03 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : new information to aid in a fix.)
Clive Shakedown
Clive Shakedown

Number of posts : 134
Registration date : 2013-07-28

Back to top Go down

BASS - Westone Thunder 3 bass pickups problem. Empty Re: Westone Thunder 3 bass pickups problem.

Post by Westbone Sun Jul 28, 2013 8:22 am

Does the phase switch make any difference to the sound?
Westbone
Westbone
Financial supporter

Number of posts : 5917
Registration date : 2008-12-28

http://www.chruler.com/

Back to top Go down