The · W e s t o n e · Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pantera X390 Project Part II

3 posters

Go down

Pantera X390 Project Part II Empty Pantera X390 Project Part II

Post by Guest Sat Jan 15, 2011 6:30 pm

Sanding has been finished and my dark green stain has arrived. I started to stain is this morning and was very disappointed with the results for 2 reasons:
1. I didn't have a consistent grain after sanding - some spots were more smooth than others so the stain was much darker in the rougher areas than others. I used the same grit over the entire guitar for many hours to try to correct this but could not get a consistant surface. This is my first attempt at staining a guitar and was aware that stain would should my flaws, but was really suprised at how obvious it would turn out.

2. The hard maple is not very pourous so the stain did not penetrate the wood as well as I had hoped. The natural wood color still remained even after a few coats.

So after some disappointment (some of it expected) I decided to go to Plan B........Paint it.

Now the question was....stay with the forest green idea? or go with my second choice, which is white. I chose the forest green and have laid down the color. it is currently drying but I will upload some pics tomorrow so you can can an idea what it is looking like.

I will add the logo's tomorrow as well, and then if the time permits, do the clearcoat next weekend and get back to sanding and hopefully get it smooth as glass. After that, I have a black BMD trem and tuners to replace the chrome ones that were original.

I think the black hardware will look good against the dark green and that means I may have a set of chrome tuners and BMD trem up for sale soon ( the trem is in VERY good condition) that I would certainly make availble to those here before ebay.
Anonymous

Back to top Go down

Pantera X390 Project Part II Empty Re: Pantera X390 Project Part II