The · W e s t o n e · Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Help with info about Trevor Rabin's Pantera

2 posters

Go down

rabin - Help with info about Trevor Rabin's Pantera Empty Help with info about Trevor Rabin's Pantera

Post by juanivazquez Tue Aug 22, 2023 6:46 am

Hi fellows, I'm Juani from Argentina. I work as a live-studio musician and my life changed the day I discovered Trevor Rabin. I remember it was very late in the night and I was at my friend's house listening to music and he was searching through a yes DVD and suddenly I caught a little bit of ''I've seen all good people'' but there was this strange guitar player instead of Steve Howe and I said HEY WHO IS THAT????'' and that was it. Since then I tried to achieve some of Rabin's sound and I don't mean just to copy him... but there's something about his tone that touches my heart... like when you play a string and it activates some harmonics in a different string... something like that happens to me and in particular the sound of the Westone Pantera he uses is just... so marvelous it makes me wanna live. 
  Anyway, my absolute dream is to finally achieve that sound and I realize how iessential the Pantera is... however I haven't found any yet and I'm also a LEFTY (what a bad choice!) so I don't know really what to do. 

-One option would be to buy a regular Pantera (for this I would have to be in the U.S. touring which I normally do every year and I would also have to be with the money available at the right time) and then somehow adapt it for left hand. I know this would be very hard and it would probably have a bad result.

-The other option would be to build one... Ideally from the original maker, Tom Presley as I understand? Do you guys know if he is still making guitars or there's a way I could contact him?