The · W e s t o n e · Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Technical adjustments necessary?

4 posters

Go down

Technical adjustments necessary?  Empty Technical adjustments necessary?

Post by edmcello Mon Oct 10, 2016 10:01 am

Morning, everyone! I'm new to this, so forgive me if I sound foolish. I bought this Westone Dynasty as a 14 year old kid in '91
for all of $150. At the time, I thought it looked cool and I wanted to learn how to shred some metal. I haven't touched it in years, though, and am now blowing the dust off it and give it life again. The output jack connection seems fuzzy and will need to be cleaned/straightened out. As far as I know, it still has all original parts.
Questions:
-should I replace the humbuckers? A friend of mine is pushing me to buy some Duncans.
-it didn't come with a tremolo bar (or the needed insert to make a trem fit into its extra large hole) - where can I find one?
-I don't have the fine tuners feature that seems to be on so many other Westone trem bridges - should I bother getting that fitted?
-how diehard should I be in keeping this baby all original parts?

Sorry- I can't seem to get my phone to upload photos to this thread yet, but I'll work in it. It appears to be an '84 Matsumoku from Japan. It currently has a treble humbucker, a middle single coil, and a bridge humbucker. They don't appear to be of the UBC variety, but I'm not entirely sure.

Thanks for your input!
edmcello
edmcello
Registered Member

Number of posts : 7
Registration date : 2016-10-10

Back to top Go down

Technical adjustments necessary?  Empty Re: Technical adjustments necessary?

Post by The Chad Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:43 pm

You have my favorite model there, the Dynasty!  I own two, one original and one modded. 

Dynasty's are not going for much anymore, even mint you'd be lucky to see $400 out of them.  So I'd say have at it!