The · W e s t o n e · Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Westone Thunder 1 electrics - coil split/tap

+3
Adey
Westbone
Rob-Thunder
7 posters

Go down

Thunder - Westone Thunder 1 electrics - coil split/tap Empty Westone Thunder 1 electrics - coil split/tap

Post by Rob-Thunder Tue May 10, 2016 6:19 am

Hi. I have Westone Thunder 1 (version 3), and am looking to fix it up.

At the moment, I think the neck pick up isn't working, but the bridge pick up is, so I am planning to change the neck pick up.

I have never done this before, and have no experience of wiring anything (other than a basic plug).

I was thinking of getting a p90 style pick up for the bridge. But now I am not sure.

1) Because I have no experience I want to be able to take the old pick up out, and put a new one in, and just wire it as it was before. But if I am getting a p90 style rather than humbucker, will the wiring be different - particular to the toggle switch, which I understand is for coil splitting. (Everyone seems to refer to it as a coil tap switch, but as the guitar has humbuckers I assume it is for coil splitting - or am I wrong?)

2) Part of me is also thinking, if it has coil splitting, is there any point in getting a p90 rather than a humbucker?

Finally, can anyone suggest any particular pick up?

I don't like the modern metal sound that a lot of pick ups seem to boast about. I prefer blues and country and Cream and the Allman Brothers etc.

I already have two working guitars, so a little bit of a whim to fix this guitar up, so I really don't want to spend a lot on pick ups. However, don't necessarily want to get the cheapest if paying a little more will be significantly better.

In terms of looks - if I can get the pick up in red that would be a bonus.

But maybe most important of all, I want to be able to simply wire it the same way the existing pick up is wired.

Currently looking at: