The · W e s t o n e · Forums
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Westone prices suddenly on the up. Why?

+4
corsair
colt933
hummel
Old Gregg
8 posters

Go down

Westone prices suddenly on the up. Why? Empty Westone prices suddenly on the up. Why?

Post by Old Gregg Fri Jun 27, 2008 10:38 am

The title pretty much says it all. Has anyone else noticed a sudden and dramatic increase in the prices that some of these Westones are going for lately?

I've been checking eBay, on and off, for the past two or three years, to see if I could find a nice Thunder IIIA fretted bass (late model) and most of the Thunder IIs and IIIs I've seen have gone for between £150 and £300. This one just sold for £400 (although it was in very nice condition) ...

Thunder IIIA ...

... and a couple of days ago, this (somewhat tatty) Rail Bass sold for £360 Shocked !

Rail Bass ..

I don't think that we can blame the price of oil for this one, so what's going on!?

Your thoughts, folks?
Old Gregg
Old Gregg

Number of posts : 123
Registration date : 2008-04-19

http://mysite.wanadoo-members.co.uk/littlesiteofcalm

Back to top Go down

Westone prices suddenly on the up. Why? Empty Re: Westone prices suddenly on the up. Why?

Post by hummel Fri Jun 27, 2008 11:04 am

Yep, I've noticed it too... and not only Westone; Ibanez MC & Roadstar basses as well. There's an MC888 on the US ebay with a $1200 buy it now pricetag... these bean-basses are not particulairy rare, odd looking and rather limited in their tonal abillities, probably the worst of the whole MC bass family. I could have bought one last year in black complete with OHSC in good condition for something about 400 euro's, it wasn't worth it... I bought a MC2924 instead, for the same amount of money.

Maybe people are fed up with overpriced vintage Fenders etc. or maybe it's some sort of 80's revival?